Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Catalog of Government Publications
Publication Dates: 1976-Present
Contains information and links to publications from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches that are issued through the U.S. Government Publishing Office.
Legislative: United States Congress
Index and full-text of Congressional prints, hearings, reports, legislative histories. Includes full text of Congressional Research Service reports from 1916 - present; full-text of Serial Set documents produced from 1789 to 1969. Index and full-text of Bound Permanent Congressional Record and its predecessors from 1789 - 1997. Full text of Daily Congressional Record 1985 - present. Search Tip: use ALL CAPS for connecting terms; e.g. AND, OR, NEAR/n, etc. See Congressional Search Syntax guide
Publication Dates: 1993-Present
Contains comprehensive legislative information on Congress, including full text of the Congressional Record and bills.
CQ Press Library
Publication Dates: 1923-Present
Contains definitive resources for researching American government, politics, policy, and current affairs. CQ Almanac provides authoritative analyses of major legislation and actions of Congress for each year since 1945. CQ Magazine features detailed articles on public policy and legislation and includes a searchable database of floor votes back to1983. CQ Researcher contains original reports on issues in the news since 1923.
Executive Branch Agencies
Search the library catalog and Williams WorldCat for published materials of these agencies, using the agency as AUTHOR. Example: United States Commission on Civil Rights in Williams WorldCat.
American Presidency Project
Oral and written addresses, executive orders, proclamations, signing statements, press conferences, radio and TV broadcasts, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, party platforms, state-level presidential election returns; and more.
U.S. Federal Court System
The three branches of the federal government — legislative, executive, and judicial — operate within a constitutional system known as "checks and balances." This means that although each branch is formally separate from the other two, the Constitution often requires cooperation among the branches. Federal laws, for example, are passed by Congress and signed by the President. The judicial branch, in turn, has the authority to decide the constitutionality of federal laws and resolve other disputes over them, but judges depend upon the executive branch to enforce court decisions.
Supreme Court of the United States
The United States Supreme Court consists of the Chief Justice of the United States and eight associate justices. At its discretion, and within certain guidelines established by Congress, the Supreme Court each year hears a limited number of the cases it is asked to decide. Those cases may begin in the federal or state courts, and they usually involve important questions about the Constitution or federal law.
United States Reports (Hein Online)
The U.S. Reports are the official record of the rulings, orders, case tables, and other proceedings of the Supreme Court of the United States.
Core U.S. Government Resources
FDLP Basic Collection
Provides access to vital sources of information about the workings and essential activities of the U.S. Government through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP).
U.S. Federal Information by Topic
Organized topically and searchable in English and Spanish