Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
See also the Individual Newspapers section of the How to Find Newspaper Articles guide and the Center for Research Libraries Newspaper Catalog.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (US) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text articles and images from:
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
Boston Globe (1872-1981)
Chicago Defender (1921-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1988)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-1998)
Hartford Courant (1764-1986)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1988)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
New York Times (1851-2008)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Wall Street Journal (1889-1994)
Washington Post (1877-1995)
ProQuest Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: mostly late 1980s to present
Searches high circulation US newspapers such as The New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal.
ProQuest International Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: mostly late 1990s to present
Searchable full text from over 170 English and non-English language newspapers and newswire sources worldwide.
FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service) This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1941-1996
Contains full-text English translations of foreign broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government statements.
Roper Public Opinion Archives This link opens in a new window
A database of survey research and public opinion data produced by the Roper Center. Includes data from Gallup polls, CNN, ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox News, General Social Surveys and many other major polling organizations.
Research Tip: Searching Newspapers
Searching Full-text Newspapers
- Think like a journalist. What words would they use?
- Use the vocabulary in use at the time. (e.g., Negroes instead of African American)
- Combine synonyms with OR to increase results. (e.g., conservatives OR right-wing)
- Use the asterisk (*) to get multiple endings of a word. (e.g., integrat* for integrate, integration, integrating, etc.)
- To get words closer together, use proximity operators. (See the database's help page for correct syntax.)
- Limit your search to "abstract" or "citation and abstract" (if available) to get more precise results.
Readers' Guide [Combined] This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1890-Present
Index to articles in popular, general interest magazines published in the United States and Canada. Indexes magazines such as Time, Life, U.S. News and World Report. Does not contain the full text of articles; use the FindText button to locate online and print copies of the magazines.
Academic OneFile Select (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1980-Present
Multi-disciplinary index to scholarly academic and general interest periodicals. Search results default to showing academic journal articles, choose the Magazines link to see magazine articles.
Alternative Press Index [Combined] This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1969-Present
Indexes articles published in about 250 alternative, radical and left publications.
Research Tip: Find Text Button
The Find Text Button
Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.