History 115: Finding Articles

The World of the Mongol Empire
Professor: Anne Reinhardt
Fall 2019

Best Bet Library Databases

Use the databases below to find articles on a topic.

Additional Resources

If you are researching a lesser-known person, place, or event, you may want to search the full-text e-journals collections below.

Also consider databases in related subject areas. See the full A-Z list of article databases and choose the subject drop-down menu to find "Best Bets" for each subject area. 

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this SFX Find Text Button button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.

screenshot of Get It section with link

Bibliography of Asian Studies Search Tips

  • Use the Geographic Terms field to limit to a specific country.
  • Use Subject field to make search results more relevant.
    • Japan -- History -- By Period --  Tokugawa (1600-1868) 
    • Japan -- Politics & Government
  • Refine your search using the facets on the left side of the screen.

International Medieval Bibliography Search Tips

  • Select Advanced Search option to construct precise searches.
  • Enter keywords into the Free Search box using Boolean AND/OR/NOT and wildcard (*).
  • Choose English in Language limit if you can only read English.
  • Modify your search by using the subject headings, disciplines, people names, and places found in the records retrieved.