History 115: Reference Sources

Contains maps, chronology, essays, A-Z dictionary entries, and bibliography. Good for quick look up of terms, people, places, and events, but dictionary entries and essays do not contain accompanying references for further research.

Contains essays on the history and various aspects of everyday life. Most helpful for its annotated bibliography of primary sources in translation and secondary sources.

Contains biographical essays on leading figures in China, Mongolia, and Central Asia. Includes military leaders, advisers and administrators, religious leaders. Does not include women or artists.

Explores every aspect of medieval life in Western Europe, the Scandinavian north, the Byzantine and Slavic east, the Muslim south from A.D. 500 to 1500.

Examines the socio-cultural history of the regions where Islam took hold between the 7th and 16th centuries.

Although the encyclopedia is written in English, the entry titles are in Arabic, Persian, or Turkish. Use the index volume to find the correct wording for the entry title.

See volume 6: Alien Regimes and Border States, 907-1368. Chapters have bibliographies of primary and secondary sources.

Volume 5 surveys of every aspect of the civilizations which flourished in the Iranian region between the 11th and 13th centuries: the rise and decline of the Saljuqs, the Mongol invasion, and the establishment of a Mongol regime. Contains lengthy bibliographic essays for each chapter.

Examines the political and cultural history of the Mongol empire from East Asia to Eastern Europe beginning in the twelfth century.