Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Strategies for Finding Digitized Archival Collections
- Enter keywords for your topic, event, or person
- Add search terms such as "archives," "digital," or "digitized"
- Also try search terms related to the type of primary source you would like to find, such as "oral history," "transcript," "speech," etc.
Be sure to evaluate the sites you find, particularly who created the site in order to determine biases and what information might be included/excluded.
Search Williams WorldCat
Some libraries catalog their digitized archival collections in Williams WorldCat.
- Search for your topic, event, or person
- Look at the Format facet on the left, and choose "downloadable archival material," "computer file," "continually updated resource," or "website"
Note: some items will not be freely available or may just be collection finding aids.
General McCarthyism/Cold War Sites
The Hollywood Blacklist Collections
Online exhibit from the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research highlights scholarly work and the collection’s primary documents about Dalton Trumbo and Millard Lampell.
Hollywood Blacklist Oral Histories
University of California, Los Angeles, Center for Oral History Research
Contains oral history transcripts of selected individuals in Los Angeles who were affected by the Hollywood blacklist during the Joseph R. McCarthy-J. Edgar Hoover era.
Atomic History Blog
"Atomic History explores the acceptance of the atom and nuclear war through government publications and other documents published during the Cold War." Maintained by Susan Maret, School of Library and Information Science, San José State University. Note particularly the links along the right hand side, which go to sites with additional primary sources.
Page from the Atomic Heritage Foundation with background information on espionage related to the Manhattan Project.
Voices of the Manhattan Project
Oral histories of Manhattan Project veterans and their families conducted by Atomic Heritage Foundation and the Los Alamos Historical Society.
Dear Professor Einstein
Contains letters and other materials from the Emergency Committee of Atomic Scientists Records at the Oregon State University.
Nuclear Proliferation International History Project
The Woodrow Wilson Center's project "explores the international history of nuclear weapons and their proliferation using archival documents and oral history interviews from countries such as Argentina, Brazil, China, Israel, India, South Africa, Sweden and more."
Nuclear Vault: Resources from the National Security Archive's Nuclear Documentation Project
Includes Electronic Briefing Books with declassified documents on nuclear weapons policy issues; photo gallery; key readings list; and links to related websites.
Restricted Data: The Nuclear Secrecy Blog
Blog about nuclear secrecy, past and present, run by Alex Wellerstein, a historian of science at the Stevens Institute of Technology. He posts essays, archival documents, and visuals. See the documents list
and resources list