Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (US)
Searchable full-text articles and images from:
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
Boston Globe (1872-1981)
Chicago Defender (1921-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1988)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-1998)
Hartford Courant (1764-1986)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1988)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
New York Times (1851-2008)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Wall Street Journal (1889-1994)
Washington Post (1877-1995)
FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)
Publication Dates: 1941-1996
Contains full text of English translations of foreign broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government statements, covering policy and politics important to US interests.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Publication Dates: 1890-1982
Includes brief information about articles from popular and general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Also includes book reviews.
Roper Public Opinion Archives
A database of survey research and public opinion data produced by the Roper Center. Includes data from Gallup polls, CNN, ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox News, General Social Surveys and many other major polling organizations.
Research Tip: Searching Newspapers
Searching Full-text Newspapers
- Think like a journalist. What words would they use?
- Use the vocabulary in use at the time. (e.g., Negroes instead of African American)
- Combine synonyms with OR to increase results. (e.g., conservatives OR right-wing)
- Use the asterisk (*) to get multiple endings of a word. (e.g., integrat* for integrate, integration, integrating, etc.)
- To get words closer together, use proximity operators. (See the database's help page for correct syntax.)
- Limit your search to "abstract" or "citation and abstract" (if available) to get more precise results.
Research Tip: Find Text Button
The Find Text Button
Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.