History 321

History of U.S.-Japan Relations
Professor: Eiko Maruko Siniawer
Spring 2021

Best Bet Library Databases

Use the databases below to find articles on a topic.

Additional Resources

If you are researching a lesser-known person or event, you may want to search full-text e-journals collections below. See also databases in related disciplines.

Historical Abstracts Search Tips

  • Start your search by doing keyword searches.
  • Look at the subject headings of relevant records to determine the terminology used in the database for your topic.
  • Combine the keywords "review article" or "historiography" with your topic to find analyses of the scholarship on your topic.
  • Use the Language Limit to remove items in languages you cannot read.
  • Use the Historical Period limit to narrow your search to the time period you are researching.

Bibliography of Asian Studies Search Tips

  • Use the Advanced Search screen.
  • Use Subject field to make search results more relevant.
    • Japan -- History -- By Period -- Modern (1868-1945)
    • Japan -- History -- By Period -- Recent (1945- )
    • Japan -- Politics & Government
  • Refine your search using the facets on the left side of the screen.

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this SFX Find Text Button button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.

screenshot of Get It section with link