Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
African American Newspapers (Readex)
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (US)
Searches across the full text and images of the following major U.S. and Black historical newspapers:
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
Boston Globe (1872-1983)
Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1992)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-2002)
Hartford Courant (1764-1990)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1992)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
New York Times (1851-2012)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Wall Street Journal (1889-1998)
Washington Post (1877-1999)
Chronicling America: Historic American Papers
Publication Dates: 1777-1963
Searchable digitized copies of historical newspapers from throughout the United States.
Publication Dates: 1857-1912
Definitive U.S. newspaper of record for the latter part of the 19th century and early 20th. Includes illustrations.
Georgia Historic Newspapers
The Georgia Newspaper Project has digitized portions of important Georgian newspapers including Cherokee Phoenix, the Dublin Post, the Colored Tribune, and Macon Telegraph
Newspapers on Microfilm
The following newspapers are located in the Library Shelving Facility. Login to your library account to request specific years.
- Charleston Courier and Charleston Daily Courier (Charleston, SC), Jan. 10, 1803-Apr. 5, 1873.
- Charleston Mercury and Morning Advertiser and Charleston Mercury (Charleston, SC), Jan. 1, 1822-Nov. 16, 1868.
- Daily South Carolinian (Columbia, SC), Dec. 18, 1849-Feb. 15, 1867.
- Leavenworth Daily Times (Leavenworth, KS), Jan. 25 1859-Nov. 2-1867.
- Richmond Enquirer (Richmond, VA), Jan. 3, 1860-Jan. 8, 1867.
- New York Herald (New York City, NY), Jan. 1, 1861-Dec.31, 1865.
- American Annual Cyclopedia and Register of Important Events of the Year... 1861-1902.
(also called Appletons' Annual Cyclopædia and Register of Important Events of the Year...)
Sawyer AE5 .A6; index available for v. 1-15 --1861-1875
Also available online through Hathitrust Digital Library.
Research Tip: Searching Newspapers
Searching Full-text Newspapers
- Think like a journalist. What words would they use?
- Use the vocabulary in use at the time. (e.g., Negroes instead of African American)
- Combine synonyms with OR to increase results. (e.g., conservatives OR right-wing)
- Use the asterisk (*) to get multiple endings of a word. (e.g., integrat* for integrate, integration, integrating, etc.)
- To get words closer together, use proximity operators. (See the database's help page for correct syntax.)
- Limit your search to "abstract" or "citation and abstract" (if available) to get more precise results.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Coverage: 1800s to 1920
Index to English and American books, journals, magazines, newspapers and government documents published in the 19th and early 20th century. Includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
Making of America -- Cornell
Contains digitized copies of twenty-two 19th-century magazines.
Making of America -- Michigan
Contains digital copies of thirteen 19th-century magazines. Includes De Bow's Review (pro-slavery and secession)
Magazines on Microfiche/Microfilm
In addition to the popular, widely distributed magazines indexed by Poole's, Williams also owns magazines specifically published to represent pro- and anti-slavery factions. Note: Microfiche is stored in the media viewing room (Room 431, Sawyer Level 4). Microfilm is shelved at Library Shelving Facility; login to your library account to request retrieval.