Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
One of the best ways to begin any history research project is to find an article on your topic in a specialized encyclopedia or dictionary. Usually, the articles are written by scholars specializing in the subject and are followed by a short list of recommended resources.
Civil War Day by Day
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE and CHAPIN LIBRARY E468.3 .L6 1985
Describes what happened on each day of the Civil war from the election of Lincoln in November 1860 to Johnson's declaration of the end of insurrection in Texas in 1866.
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE E468 .H47 2000
Contains A-Z entries covering the political, social, and military aspects of the American Civil War. * Includes a chronology, glossary, and over 250 primary source documents.
Encyclopedia of the Confederacy
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE and CHAPIN LIBRARY E487 .E55
Includes entries about important campaigns and battles, prominent people, Confederate government and politics, the economic system, foreign affairs, and social/cultural issues.
American Reconstruction, 1862-1877
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE E668 .R53 1996
Provides information on personalities, politics, organizations, legislation, ideas, incidents, exploitation, and power struggles during Reconstruction.
Black Women in America
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE E185.86 .B542 2005
Contains biographies and topical essays discussing the important roles Black women have played in American history.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Covers all aspects of the African American experience from 1619 to the present day in the U.S. and throughout the Western hemisphere. Articles are signed by experts in the field and are accompanied by a selected bibliography. The appendix contains statistical data and a selection of primary source documents.
, Arabic Studies
, Comparative Literature
, Romance Languages
, Science and Technology Studies