Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Bet Library Databases
Use the databases below to find articles on a topic.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1954-Present
Historical Time Period: Prehistory-Present.
Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. Contains summaries of scholarly articles, dissertations, and book reviews.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1953-Present
Historical Time Period: 15th century-Present
Covers world history and culture (excluding U.S. and Canada). Contains summaries of scholarly articles, books, and more.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1971-Present
Covers topics in Asian history and culture for all historical time periods. Searches authors, titles, and subjects of articles, books, and book chapters.
If you are researching a lesser-known person or topic, you may want to search full-text e-journals collections below. See also databases in related disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in leading academic journals and books in the fields of humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Journal of Vietnamese Studies
Journal (available through JSTOR) that focuses on research about Vietnamese history, politics, culture and society.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals in the fields of humanities and social sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
America:History and Life & Historical Abstracts Search Tips
- Start your search by doing keyword searches.
- Look at the subject headings of relevant records to determine the terminology used in the database for your topic.
- Combine the keywords "review article" or "historiography" with your topic to find analyses of the scholarship on your topic.
- Use the Language Limit to remove items in languages you cannot read.
- Use the Historical Period limit to narrow your search to the time period you are researching.
Bibliography of Asian Studies Search Tips
- Use the Advanced Search screen.
- Use Subject field to make search results more relevant.
- Vietnam -- History -- By Period -- 1954-1975
- Refine your search using the facets on the left side of the screen.
Research Tip: Find Text Button
The Find Text Button
Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.