Searches across the full text and images of major U.S. and Black historical newspapers. Includes New York Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, L.A. Times, and more.
Publication Dates: mostly 1990-present with some older content back to the 1970s
Contains the full text of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press in the United States, including the Jewish press. Coverage is national and regional.
Publication Dates: 1890-Present
Indexes popular and general interest magazines. Includes titles such as Christian Century, Christianity Today, and Commentary. Does not contain the full text of articles; use the FindText button to locate online and print copies of the magazines.
Publication Dates: 1980-Present
Multi-disciplinary index to scholarly academic and general interest periodicals. Search results default to showing academic journal articles; choose the Magazines link to see magazine articles.
Publication Dates: 1969-Present
Indexes articles published in 250 alternative, radical and left publications.
Research Tip: Searching Newspapers
Searching Full-text Newspapers
Think like a journalist. What words would they use?
Use the vocabulary in use at the time. (e.g., Negroes instead of African American)
Combine synonyms with OR to increase results. (e.g., conservatives OR right-wing)
Use the asterisk (*) to get multiple endings of a word. (e.g., integrat* for integrate, integration, integrating, etc.)
To get words closer together, use proximity operators. (See the database's help page for correct syntax.)
Limit your search to "abstract" or "citation and abstract" (if available) to get more precise results.
Research Tip: Find Text Button
The Find Text Button
Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.
button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.