Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chronology of World History
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE D11 .M39 1999
Lists important events in politics, government, and economics; science, technology and medicine; arts and ideas; and society from pre-history to 1998. Arranged by year and day.
Dictionary of American History
A standard reference work in United States history. Covers prehistory to 2002. Also available in print (SAWYER REFERENCE E174 .D52 2003).
Encyclopedia of American Social History
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE HN57 .E58 1993
Provides information on ethnic and racial subcultures; regionalism and regional subcultures; patterns of everyday life; work and labor; and popular culture and recreation. Few illustrations.
Encyclopedia of European Social History
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE HN373 .E63 2001
Contains information about social structure; culture and popular culture; recreation and leisure; and everyday life. Some illustrations.
For additional sources, browse the reference collection or stacks. To find the appropriate call number range to browse, consult the Library of Congress Classification Outline for history:
Architecture and Interior Design
SAH Archipedia This link opens in a new window
Provides encyclopedic information for all aspects of American architecture. Includes detailed pictures and drawings of American buildings and discussion of the infrastructure, landscape, and artworks contained within and around them.
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World
Call Number: Sawyer Reference NA208 .E53 1997
Provides information, drawings, and photographs of 20th century owner-built or community-built dwellings and other buildings from various cultures throughout the world. Volume 1 comprises theories and principles of vernacular architecture and volumes 2 and 3 focus on examples from each culture by geographical region.
Encyclopedia of Architecture
Call Number: Sawyer Reference NA31 .E59 1988
A to Z arrangement of articles covering all aspects of architecture and engineering, from masterpieces of architecture to types of buildings (e.g. banks) and structures (e.g. bridges) and more. Heavily illustrated with photographs and drawings.
Encyclopedia of Interior Design
Call Number: Sawyer Reference NK1165 .E48 1997
Focuses on individuals and topics related to secular interiors. Includes articles on the history and function of common room types and furniture. Illustrated.
Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Includes biographical profiles from reference sources, newspapers, magazines, and journals. Covers all time periods and areas of the world.
American National Biography
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE & CHAPIN LIBRARY E176 .A447 1999
Contains biographical profiles of people who died prior to 1996. Includes people whose significant actions took place while living in what is today the United States or whose life/career had a direct influence on the course of American history.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE DA28 .O95 2004 and Online
Contains biographies of men and women who have shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000.
Fashion and Hairstyles
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Call Number: Sawyer Reference GT507 .E53 2005
Articles survey international clothing, fashion and related topics from pre-history to the present. Illustrated with photographs, advertisements, and paintings. Also available as an online resource
Dictionary of Costume
Call Number: Sawyer Reference GT507 .W5 1987
First published in 1969, this book describes in words and line drawings over 3,000 articles of clothing.
Encyclopedia of World Costume
Call Number: Sawyer Reference GT507 .Y37 1986
A guide to dress from ancient times to the present in text and more than 2,000 drawings.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies and reference articles on all genres of music, musicians, and musical instruments.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides information on all aspects of world art. Includes a database of images covering the visual arts from prehistory to the present.
Encyclopedia of World Art
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE N31 .E6
Contains articles on all types of art including paintings, architecture, furniture, and household objects. Use index volume to see full range of information for a particular country. Plates of illustrations are at the end of each volume.