Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Choice Reference Books
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Call Number: Sawyer Reference GN307 .E53 1991
This 10-vol. set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Volume 6 covers China. An introductory essay is presented at the beginning of the volume and part 2 contains entries on each minzu. The supplement volume also includes updates/new entries for 5 Chinese cultural groups (see list of cultures by country at the back of the volume).
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE DS805 .K633 1983
This nine-volume reference work contains over 10,000 articles exploring every aspect of Japanese society, history, politics, economy, thought and culture. Longer articles include a bibliography.
An Ethnohistorical Dictionary of China
Call Number: Sawyer Reference DS730 .O74 1998
Generally defining ethnicity in terms of language, this book provides individual essays on hundreds of Chinese ethnic groups, including ethnic groups living in the Republic of China and Taiwan.
Encyclopedia of Modern China
Call Number: Sawyer Reference DS755 .E53 2009
covers Chinese history, culture and society from 1800 to the present.
Japan (World Bibliographical Series, v. 103)
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE DS806 .S54 1989
An annotated English-language bibliography covering all major fields of knowledge relating to Japan. Includes extensive list of references including primary sources.
Cambridge History of China
Call Number: Sawyer DS735 .C3145 1978
covers the main developments in political, social, economic and intellectual life of China from the 3rd century BC, to the death of Mao Tse-tung
World Public Opinion This link opens in a new window
Contains world-wide opinion surveys and polls on social policy issues.
Human Development Reports This link opens in a new window
Contains statistical tables related to worldwide progress on social issues and economic development.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1986-Present
Provides a searchable data archive of polls from around the world.
CIA World Factbook
Basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
China Data Online (via Harvard)
Three databases: 1) China Statistical Databases; (2) China Census Databases; and (3) China Spatial Data Service (China Geo-Explorer). It provides easy access to comprehensive statistics, and Census data of economy and population at national, provincial, city, county, and even township levels.