Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a database?
Articles published in journals, magazines or newspapers are indexed in Periodical Databases. You can search these databases by topic to get a list of articles. Below are a few of the suggested databases for SOC 221, but depending on your topic, you may need to use other databases (e.g. to find economic scholarship). You may access all the library databases through the A-Z Databases list. If you need assistance selecting a database, consult with the Sociology librarian.
Core Databases for Sociology
Publication Dates: 1952-Present
Includes summaries of scholarly articles published in sociology journals and related fields (linguistics, economics, anthropology, law).
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Publication Dates: 1951-Present
Includes references to scholarly articles, books, book chapters, and reviews for the social sciences. Good international coverage.
Publication Dates: 1840-Present
Searches scholarly literature in psychology, the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Also includes cited references searching.
Additional Subject Databases
Publication Dates: 1970-Present
Includes newspaper and magazine articles, as well as reviews and scholarly journal articles. Start here if you have a pop culture topic.
Women's Studies International
Publication Dates: 1972-Present
Includes summaries of scholarly articles on topics rooted in feminist and queer theory. Includes references to journals, newspapers, book chapters, dissertations, and more.
America: History and Life
Publication Dates: 1954-Present
Historical Time Period: Prehistory-Present.
Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. Contains summaries of scholarly articles, dissertations, and book reviews.