Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Leading African News Sources
Research Tip: Searching Newspapers
Searching Full-text Newspapers
- Think like a journalist. What words would they use?
- Use the vocabulary in use at the time. (e.g., Negroes instead of African American)
- Combine synonyms with OR to increase results. (e.g., conservatives OR right-wing)
- Use the asterisk (*) to get multiple endings of a word. (e.g., integrat* for integrate, integration, integrating, etc.)
- To get words closer together, use proximity operators. (See the database's help page for correct syntax.)
- Limit your search to "abstract" or "citation and abstract" (if available) to get more precise results.
International Africa-focused sources
International News Databases
PressDisplay This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: Last 90 days
Contains international newspapers as they appear on the newsstand on the day they are published. Includes many non-English newspapers.
ProQuest International Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: late 1990s-Present
Searches across the full text of international newspapers and newswires. Includes English and non-English titles. Does not include images and graphics.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of national and international news articles and transcripts, legal documents (including court cases), and company profiles.