Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Human Rights Organizations
African Centre for Migration & Society
The African Centre for Migration & Society (ACMS) is Africa’s leading scholarly institution for research and teaching on human mobility.
Amnesty International - Africa
Amnesty International is a Non-Governmental Organization focused on human rights. Overviews, news, and commentary are available for each region and country where AI operates.
Human Rights Watch - Africa
Human Rights Watch is an international non-governmental organization that conducts research and advocacy on human rights issues across the globe. Videos, news, and reports are available for regions and countries.
ICTJ - The International Center for Transitional Justice
The International Center for Transitional Justice works for justice in countries that have endured massive human rights abuses under repression and in conflict.
Institute for Security Studies
The ISS is an African non-profit organisation with offices in South Africa, Kenya, Ethiopia and Senegal. Their work covers transnational crimes, migration, maritime security and development, peacekeeping, peacebuilding, crime prevention and criminal justice, and the analysis of conflict and governance.
International Committee of the Red Cross - Africa Resource Centre
The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) is an independent humanitarian organization with a mandate to help and protect people affected by armed conflict and other violence. The ICRC Resource Centre includes a searchable database of publications, photo galleries, videos, and articles organized by region and country.
International Crisis Group - Africa
The International Crisis Group is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organization committed to preventing and resolving deadly conflict. The website is home to reports and briefings by region and country, as well as CrisisWatch, a global conflict tracking tool.
Monash Gender, Peace, and Security Centre
Monash Gender, Peace & Security Centre is run out of Monash University in South Africa. The research centre focuses on issues of gender, peace and security. Their vision is to provide research evidence to support the integration of gender perspectives into peace and security policies in Australia, Asia and the Pacific, and globally.
Rift Valley Institute
The Rift Valley Institute (RVI) is an independent, non-profit organization, founded in Sudan in 2001, currently working in seven countries in Eastern and Central Africa. The aim of the Institute is to advance useful knowledge of the region and its diverse communities, bringing a better understanding of local realities to bear on social and political action. The RVI works with institutions in the region to develop and implement long-term programmes that combine action-oriented research with education and public information.
Save the Children International
Save the Children is an international non-governmental organization that promotes children's rights, provides relief, and helps support children in developing countries. Use the tabs at the top of the page to access news and resources, or use the "Where We Work" tab to view resources by country.
Transparency International - Research by Country
Transparency International is an international non-governmental organization whose purpose is to take action to combat global corruption with civil societal anti-corruption measures, and to prevent criminal activities that arise from corruption.
Crisis Watch - How to Use
International Government Documents
United Nations - Official Document System
The Official Document System (ODS) is an online database of UN documents. ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents. ODS is maintained by the Office of Information and Communications Technology (OICT).
Human Development Reports
Contains statistical tables related to worldwide progress on social issues and economic development.
Publication Dates: 1953-Present
Historical Time Period: 15th century-Present
Covers world history and culture (excluding U.S. and Canada). Contains summaries of scholarly articles, books, and more.
International Political Science Abstracts
Publication Dates: 1951-Present
Provides brief summaries of scholarly journal articles and books on foreign policy, international politics, political theory, and government institutions.
African Journals Online
African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world’s largest online library of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. AJOL works to make African-origin research output available to Africans and to the rest of the world.
Featuring recent scholarly publications and useful resources related to African migration, mobility, and displacement.
Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO)
PRIO conducts research on the conditions for peaceful relations between states, groups, and people. Resources include research reports, publications, and datasets from across the globe.
Africa Is a Country
Africa Is a Country was founded by Sean Jacobs in 2009 and is a site of opinion, analysis, and new writing.
An Africanist Perspective
Blog written by Ken Ochieng' Opalo, Assistant Professor of African Studies at Georgetown University.
An electronic journal including articles, editorials, poems, essays, reviews, and conference announcements regarding political, social and cultural life in Africa.
CODESRIA - Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
CODESRIA is recognised not only as the pioneer African social research organisation but also as the apex non-governmental centre of social knowledge production on the continent.