Research Guides: ECON 477: Economics of Environmental Behavior: Data

Resources to Get You Started

Econ 477 / Envi 376 - Fall 2022 - Paper Assignment Information
Professor Jacobson has suggestions for data resources (p.2-4)

Working with Data Guide
Williams Libraries' guide to finding and working with data. Includes a broad collection of data sources.
Data, Research Resources & Blogs
Resources compiled by the Williams Economics department.

Data and Statistics Through the Library

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
One of the best places to start looking for a data set. Provides access to archived social science data for research and teaching. Maintained by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research at University of Michigan.
Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1900-Present
Contains information about datasets from repositories worldwide and provides references to literature that has used the dataset.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Integrates statistical data from over 80,000 topics from over 20,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Datasets cover 170 industries and over 150 countries. The reports, charts, infographics, and statistics found in the database can be viewed online or downloaded.
SourceOECD This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1998-Present
Contains economic publications and statistics published by OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development).

A Note About U.S. Government Data and Information

As they work to comply with recent executive orders, some federal agencies have modified or removed access to federally funded data.

Many organizations are working together to archive critical research data. The document below from compiles current data rescue efforts and resources.

Federal Data Resources
A collection of federal data and information archiving efforts compiled by Research Services.