This guide offers an introduction to the LGBTQIA+ collections of the Library of Congress. The Library collects at the research level in the area of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex and Asexual (LGBTQIA+) studies. Library holdings are particularly strong in LGBTQIA+ politics, history, literature and the performing arts. This guide is organized by subject, format, and time period.
The Manuscripts and Archives Division of the New York Public Library holds over 100 collections pertaining to the history and culture of gay men and lesbians, and to the history of the AIDS/HIV epidemic. Gay and lesbian history and AIDS history are not a single subject; however, because of their interrelationships, both types of collections are included in this guide.
Online collections from the Leslie-Lohman Museum, a dynamic and safe space where the LGBTQIA+ community and its allies engage in meaningful and authentic art experiences that foster empowerment and community building.
The DTA is an international collaboration among dozens of colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections that brings together a curated collection of pre-2000 archival materials relevant to global transgender history.
Digitized archival materials from the Dr. John P. De Cecco Archives and Special Collections of the GLBT Historical Society, one of the largest and most extensive holdings in the world of materials pertaining to LGBTQ people.
Digital collections from Invisible Histories, a community based archive that preserves, researches, and creates educational, community-centered content about the rich and diverse history of LGBTQ people, places, and events in the US South.
In the Life was television's longest running LGBTQ news magazine. Housed at UCLA's Film & Television archive, this 20-year collection of the television program's is available online for students, researchers, and the general public.
The ACT UP Oral History Project is an archive of 187 interviews with members of ACT UP, the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York. The project is coordinated by Jim Hubbard and Sarah Schulman, with principal camera work by James Wentzy
The New York City Trans Oral History Project is a community archive devoted to the collection, preservation and sharing of trans histories, organized in collaboration with the New York Public Library.
Based at the University of Toronto, the Collaboratory is the largest LGBTQ oral history project in North American history. This hub acts as a growing resource for oral histories practitioners and the public.
Making Gay History (MGH) is a nonprofit organization that addresses the absence of substantive, in-depth LGBTQ+-inclusive American history from the public discourse and the classroom. Since 2016 the Making Gay History podcast has been mining Eric Marcus’s decades-old audio archive of rare interviews—conducted for his award-winning oral history of the LGBTQ+ civil rights movement—to create intimate portraits of both known and long-forgotten champions, heroes, and witnesses to history.
The LGBTQ Religious Archives Network (LGBTQ-RAN) is an innovative venture in preserving history and encouraging scholarly study of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) religious movements around the world. This page provides in-depth interviews with more than 70+ early leaders of LGBTQ+ religious movements.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. The LGBT collection contains 25 publications that chronicle the birth of the Gay and Lesbian movements in the United States.
The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) preserves queer zines, making them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities. To get started with the zine archive try browsing through the collections or searching for specific terms.
