It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Physics 109: Articles
Sound, Light, and Perception Professor Kealhofer Spring 2018
A library database is an electronic (online) catalog or index of resources such as articles, patents, government documents, and more.
Library databases contain information about published items, and sometimes full-text articles themselves.
Library databases are searchable.
The library subscribes to many databases so the Williams community has access to these resources. When you're searching a database, you are not searching "the web." In fact, you'll find a lot of articles and other resources that aren't available on the open Internet.
Library databases allow you to find:
Articles in Journals/Magazines/Newspapers
Reference Information (i.e. entries from Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.)
Books & other documents
(Based on the great information provided by CSULA)
Publication Dates: 1900-Present
Searches the scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Includes a cited reference search to find articles that have cited a work.
Searches across a wide variety of types of sources including scholarly journals, magazines, historical and current newspapers, dissertations, and more. Coverage is multidisciplinary. Great place to start a research project.
Publication Dates: 1940-Present
Contains reviews of the world's mathematical literature. Searches references to books, journal articles, and conference proceedings.
Publication Dates: 1997-Present
Contains open access journals from Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa, focusing on science, medical research, and social sciences.
