CHEM 200: Advanced Chemical Concepts: Introduction

Need Help? You can ask!

Other ways to get help:

Email us

Call us at 413-597-4500

Text us at 413-648-6071

Stop by during our service hours.

Your focus with this class will be to find chemical information and data for your lab reports and problem sets.

Information can be categorized as primary, secondary, or tertiary depending on how and when it was created.   Review the pdf to see what types of chemical information fall into each of these categories.

• LIBRARY CATALOG:  use to search books and articles; use a subject database to search only for articles.
  • Keyword search: use AND to combine two or more words
  • Subject search:  Chemistry - Tables or Chemistry Physical

• ON THE WEB: 
  • NIST - The NIST Chemistry WebBook  provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program. (NIST - National Institute of Standards and Technology in the U.S. Department of Commerce).
  • PubChem - PubChem is an open chemistry database, containing free information on mostly small molecules, and some larger molecules. The database is provided by the National Institute of Health (NIH). In additional to chemical substances, you can find information about chemical structures, names, spectra, and associated bioassay test results. 
  • Chemspider - ChemSpider is a free database of over 115 million chemical structures, properties, and associated information provided by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
  • MATWEB - MatWeb is a searchable database of material properties including data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers, metals, ceramics, semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials. You can search by property, metal composition, material type, manufacturer name., trade name, polymer film, lubricant, or metal alloy UNS number. 

Don't feel like looking up the JANAF Thermochemical tables in the reference section? The National Institute of Standards and Technology provides a Standard Reference Database of chemical formulas for free on the web. Just click on the image below or go to: https://janaf.nist.gov/