Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In this course, you will be finding information to support your independent projects. Use this guide as a starting point for search strategies, key resources, evaluating sources, and how to cite your sources. Please email me to schedule research appointments as needed.
Additional information for thermodynamic property data can be found on the Chem 366 course guide.
Selecting a Topic
1. Browse Advances in Chemical Physics series (print)
2. Browse physical chemistry journals (electronic) such as:
3. Browse materials on Reserve at Schow
4. Search the library catalog and browse table of contents for books:
- Keyword: physical and chemistry and experiment*
- Keyword: physical and chemistry and laborator
- Subject: chemistry, physical and theoretical
- Subject: thermodynamics
About Reference Resources
Reference materials provide general overviews, subdivided into more detailed information. A bibliography, which will provide additional resources, can usually be found at the end of each entry. Reference books at Schow can be found down the stairs to the left. The QD call number is assigned to Chemistry resources. Browse table of contents and indexes....you never know what you might find!
AIP Physics Desk Reference by
Publication Date: 2003-01-27
A concise compilation of the most frequently used physics data and formulae with their derivations. This edition contains six new chapters, with outdated chapters dropped, and new chapters added on atmospheric physics, electricity and magnetism, elementary particle physics, fluid dynamics, geophysics, nonlinear physics, particle accelerators, polymer physics, and quantum theory.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry by
Publication Date: 2001-10-30
The encyclopedia quickly provides the basics, defines the scope of each subdiscipline, and indicates where to go for a more complete and detailed explanation. Explains important experimental and computational techniques, and describes modern endeavors.
Kirk Othmer's Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by
Publication Date: 2004-03-29
The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the field of chemistry. It presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, uses, industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering, and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.
Ewing's Analytical Instrumentation Handbook by
Publication Date: 2004-11-30
Offers instruction on the frequently utilized analytical instrumentation techniques as well as an introductory description of the techniques and a theoretical treatment of the science and technology.
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry by
Call Number: SCHOW REF QD71.5 .E52 2000
Publication Date: 2000-12-19
The most comprehensive analytical chemistry reference available. Covers all aspects from theory and instrumentation through applications and techniques.