Research Guides: CHEM 366: Thermodynamics/Statistical Mechanics: Introduction

Introduction

In this course, you will be finding information to support your problem sets and independent projects. Use this guide as a starting point for key resources, search strategies, evaluating sources, and how to cite your sources. Please email me to schedule research appointments as needed.

About Reference Resources

Reference materials provide general overviews, subdivided into more detailed information. A bibliography, which will provide additional resources, can usually be found at the end of each entry. Reference books at Schow can be found down the stairs to the left. The QD call number is assigned to Chemistry resources. Browse table of contents and indexes....you never know what you might find!

Reference Books

AIP Physics Desk Reference by E. Richard Cohen (Editor); David R. Lide (Editor); George L. Trigg (Editor)
ISBN: 0387989730
Publication Date: 2003-01-27
A concise compilation of the most frequently used physics data and formulae with their derivations. This edition contains six new chapters, with outdated chapters dropped, and new chapters added on atmospheric physics, electricity and magnetism, elementary particle physics, fluid dynamics, geophysics, nonlinear physics, particle accelerators, polymer physics, and quantum theory.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry by Jack Moore (Editor); Nicholas Spencer (Editor)
ISBN: 0750303131
Publication Date: 2001-10-30
The encyclopedia quickly provides the basics, defines the scope of each subdiscipline, and indicates where to go for a more complete and detailed explanation. Explains important experimental and computational techniques, and describes modern endeavors.
Handbook of Physics by John W. Harris (Editor); Horst Stöcker (Editor); Walter Benenson (Editor); Holger Lutz (Editor)
ISBN: 0387952691
Publication Date: 2006-01-13
A veritable toolbox for rapid access to a wealth of physics information for everyday use in problem solving, homework, and examinations. This complete reference includes not only the fundamental formulas of physics but also experimental methods used in practice.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by Richard J. Lewis
ISBN: 9780471768654
Publication Date: 2007-01-29
A compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology. Provides concise, condensed, and prompt definitions of terms and phenomena in chemistry, biology, biochemistry, and more.
Kirk Othmer's Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by Wiley-Interscience Publication Staff (Editor); Kirk-Othmer (Editor)
ISBN: 0471484946
Publication Date: 2004-03-29
The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the field of chemistry. It presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, uses, industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering, and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.