Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to ENVI 102!
Welcome to the research guide for ENVI 102, Introduction to Environmental Science! This guide will give you tips and tricks for finding articles and other resources that will be useful for your research in this class.
On this page, you'll find recommended databases for this class, and a list of books in the Schow Science Library that may be very useful. If you get stuck, feel free to ask a librarian for assistance!
Best Bet Databases
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1900-Present
Searches the scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Includes a cited reference search to find articles that have cited a work.
Environment Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1975-Present
Provides brief summaries of scientific and scholarly material published worldwide, encompassing all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Provides encyclopedic information for all scientific disciplines. Includes overviews of scientific concepts and brief biographies of scientists.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1785-Present
Searches geoscience scholarly journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. International in scope.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Toxicology by
Call Number: Schow Reference RA1193 .E53 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-07
Presents entries devoted to key concepts and specific chemicals, and is updated to reflect current advances in the field. It contains new information on nanotoxicology, epigenetics, persistent organic pollutants, computational toxicology and bioinformatics, controversial chemicals, and much more. Along with the traditional scientific entries, new articles focus on worldwide initiatives, the potential health and environmental effects of new technologies, and the societal implications of global legal and regulatory issues.
Dictionary of Toxicology by
Call Number: Schow Reference RA1193 .H63 1988
Publication Date: 1988
Illustrates and describes words, concepts, acronyms and symbols for both the toxicological theory and applied risk assessment, as well as providing guidance on the correct selection of problematic, similar and frequently-misused terms; an essential reference for all scientific, medical and legal professionals who work with or encounter the toxicological effects of contaminants on biological systems.
Environmental Forensics: Contaminant Specific Guide by
Call Number: Online resource
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Environmental forensics is the application of scientific techniques for the purpose of identifying the source and age of a contaminant. This title is a hands-on guide for environmental scientists, engineers, consultants and industrial scientists to identify the origin and age of a contaminant in the environment and the issues involved in the process.