History 319

Gender and the Family in Chinese History
Professor: Anne Reinhardt
Fall 2020

Best Bet Library Databases

Asian History Databases

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Databases

Additional Resources

If you are researching a lesser-known person or event, you may want to search one of the full-text e-journals collections below:

Historical Abstracts Search Tips

  • Start your search by doing keyword searches.
  • Look at the subject headings of relevant records to determine the terminology used in the database for your topic.
  • Combine the keywords "review article" or "historiography" with your topic to find analyses of the scholarship on your topic.
  • Use the Language Limit to remove items in languages you cannot read.
  • Use the Historical Period limit to narrow your search to the time period you are researching.

Bibliography of Asian Studies Search Tips

  • Use Geographic Terms field to limit search to China.
  • Use Subject to make search results more relevant. For example:
    • China -- History -- By Period -- Ch'ing (1644-1911)
    • Anthropology & Sociology -- Social Structure -- Family
  • For book chapter citations, search the library catalog for the book title.

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this SFX Find Text Button button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.

screenshot of Get It section with link