Research Guides: MUS 232: Music in History II: Finding Sources

Need Help?

Emery Shriver
Music Librarian

mes4@williams.edu
413-597-4716

Best Bet Library Databases

Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1874-Present
Covers a wide range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals. Full text is available from around 1996-present.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies and reference articles on all genres of music, musicians, and musical instruments.

The Oxford History of Western Music
Call Number: Sawyer ML160 .T18 2005
Combines an emphasis on structure and form with a discussion of relevant theoretical concepts in each age, and also describes how the context of each stylistic period--key cultural, historical, social, economic, and scientific events--influenced and directed compositional choices.

RILM This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1969-Present
Includes references to articles, books, bibliographies, and other scholarly publications in music. Concert reviews and recording notes are also included.

Search the Library Catalog

Find books, articles, & more

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.

Research Tip: Proxy Server

Researching Off Campus

Many of the resources on the A-Z Databases page are accessible anywhere you have an Internet connection. However, you will need to authenticate yourself as a Williams user.

If you need help, just ask!