Research Guides: PSCI 316: Policy Making Process: Statistics

General

data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 2000-Present
Aggregates data from surveys and censuses conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes data on income, poverty, race, sex, educational attainment, and more.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1878-2012
Contains summaries of U.S. social, economic, health, population, and educational statistics. The first stop for U.S. statistics.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
The US Department of Justice - Bureau of Justice Statistics collects vast amount of information on crime and law enforcement in the United States. You can use this site to gain "At a Glance" statistics as well as more in-depth time-series data.
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives
ATF-related data from national surveys, state-based surveys, other collected license statistics, and other data sources documents trends in firearms, commerce and use of federal services in the United States.
FBI's Crime Data Explorer
The FBI's Crime Data Explorer (CDE) aims to provide transparency, create easier access, and expand awareness of criminal, and noncriminal, law enforcement data sharing; improve accountability for law enforcement; and provide a foundation to help shape public policy.

Envirofacts Data (Environmental Protection Agency)
Look within "Topics" to get data related to specific issues.

Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
more...less...
The Yearbook of Immigration Statistics is a compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence (i.e., admitted as immigrants or became legal permanent residents), were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis (e.g., tourists, students, or workers), applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and returns. The Yearbook tables are released as they become available.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

Roper Public Opinion Archives This link opens in a new window
Contains public opinion data, including polls from Gallup, CNN, ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox News, General Social Surveys and many other major polling organizations.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Tip: The Digest of Education Statistics is easy to use!
Economic Census: Business & Industry
Current economic inidcators

Health United States (current edition)
National Center for Health Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics, part of the Center for Disease Control, is the federal department charged with gathering data about America's health.

U.S. Bureau of the Census: Poverty
The Census Bureau reports poverty data from several major household surveys and programs.
more...less...
The Annual Social and Economic Supplement (ASEC) to the Current Population Survey (CPS) is the source of official national poverty estimates. The American Community Survey (ACS) provides single and multi-year estimates for smaller areas. The Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP) provides longitudinal estimates. The Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates (SAIPE) program provides model-based poverty estimates for counties and school districts. See Description of Income and Poverty Data Sources to determine which survey or program meets your specific needs.