Research Guides: WGSS 101: Intro to Women's, Gender, &amp; Sexuality Studies: Getting Started

Strategies for Getting Started

Read through the course syllabus and identify topics and readings of interest.
Browse through reference sources to find topics of interest and bibliographies.
Follow the footnotes in the readings from class and the reference sources.

Suggested Reference Sources

The Bloomsbury Handbook of 21st-Century Feminist Theory
Call Number: Sawyer HQ1190 .B594 2019
Explores the latest thinking on key topics in current feminist discourse, including: Feminist subjectivity - from identity, difference, and intersectionality to affect, sex and the body; Feminist texts - writing, reading, genre and critique; and Feminism and the world - from power, trauma and value to technology, migration and community.
The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History
Covers the history of, and current developments in, LGBTQ-related topics and events around the world.
Introducing the New Sexuality Studies
Call Number: Sawyer HQ21 .I685 2016
An innovative, reader-friendly anthology of original essays and interviews that introduces the field of sexuality studies
Keywords for Series
The books in the Keywords series collect essays by authors across the humanities and social sciences, with each essay focusing on a single term and set of debates. Use the search functionality to search within each book or across multiple books, or find the books at Williams.
The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theory
Call Number: Sawyer HQ1190 .O975 2016
Provides an overview of the analytical frameworks and theoretical concepts feminist theorists have developed to challenge established knowledge. Leading feminist theorists, from around the globe, provide in-depth explorations of a diverse array of subject areas, capturing a plurality of approaches.
The Oxford Handbook of U. S. Women's Social Movement Activism
Call Number: Sawyer HQ1236.5.U6 O94 2017
Provides a comprehensive examination of scholarly research and knowledge on a variety of aspects of women's collective activism in the United States,tracing both continuities and critical changes over time.
The Routledge Global History of Feminism
Traces the complex history of feminism across the globe, presenting its many identities, its heated debates, its racism, discussion of religious belief and values, commitment to social change, and the struggles of women around the world for gender justice.