Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About General Interest Reviews
General interest reviews are written mainly for consumers and appear in newspapers, popular magazines, and websites. These reviews are the first ones to appear after the book has been published. They tend to be short, summarize the plot/topic, and are written to help someone decide whether to purchase or read the book.
Resources for Recent Reviews
Academic OneFile Select (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1980-Present
Includes articles from magazines, newspapers and scholarly journals. Multidisciplinary coverage. Click the magazine link in the results list to get general interest reviews.
ProQuest Current Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: varies by newspaper
Searches across the full text of the following ProQuest newspaper databases: Ethnic NewsWatch, National Newspapers, International Newsstand, and ProQuest Newsstand.
Resources for Older Reviews
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1890-1982
Includes brief information about articles from popular and general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Also includes book reviews.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (US) This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: varies by newspaper title
Searches across the full text and images of major U.S. and Black historical newspapers. Includes New York Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, L.A. Times, and more.
Research Tip: Book Review Searching
Book Review Searching
- Search for the title of the book, enclosed in quotation marks ("World's Best Book")
- If the title is not very distinctive, add the author's last name
- Look for limit to "book review" or add search term "review"