Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cold War Primary Source Collections
Wilson Center Digital Archive
Sponsored by the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, this online archive is extensive and especially notable for including English-translations of documents from Soviet-bloc countries.
The Cold War at the Avalon Project
Sponsored by the Goldman Law Library at Yale Law School, the Avalon Project hosts thousands of historical primary source documents, including a strong collection on the Cold War.
The National Archives and Records Administration supervises the Presidential Libraries, most of which now provide online access to selected documents. For example, see the Eisenhower Library’s online collection on the U-2 Spy Plane Incident.
National Security Archive
Sponsored by George Washington University, the National Security Archive hosts thousands of declassified documents.
Foreign Relations of the United States
Drawing from the records of the U.S. State Department, the FRUS series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
The Secret White House Tapes
Part of the Presidential Recordings Program run by the University of Virginia's Miller Center this archive includes recordings of meetings and telephone conversations made between 1940 and 1973 by six consecutive American presidents.