Research Guides: How to Find and Work with Data: Socioeconomic, Education, and Demographic

A Note About U.S. Government Data and Information

As they work to comply with recent executive orders, some federal agencies have modified or removed access to federally funded data.

Many organizations are working together to archive critical research data. The document below from compiles current data rescue efforts and resources.

Federal Data Resources
A collection of federal data and information archiving efforts compiled by Research Services.

Open Access Data Sources

ARDA: Association of Religion Data Archives
Provides a searchable archive of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by religion scholars and research centers around the world.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
The US Department of Justice - Bureau of Justice Statistics collects vast amount of information on crime and law enforcement in the United States. You can use this site to gain "At a Glance" statistics as well as more in-depth time-series data.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
An archive containing data from over 3,000 studies and statistical data series. Sources include the National Crime Victimization Survey and the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports, among many others.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Tip: The Digest of Education Statistics is easy to use!

Panel Study of Income Dynamics
A longitudinal study following over 9,500 families since 1968 run by the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan.
World Bank Education Statistics
A global look at educational attainment, access, outcomes, and policy data.
Homelessness Data Exchange
National data on homelessness collected by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
Civil Rights Data
Data compiled by the U.S. Department of Education's Office for Civil Rights.
Kids Count Data Center
Datasets related to children's' wellbeing. Includes topics on health, COVID-19, education, and general demographics. Searchable by location. Created by the Annie E. Casey Foundation.
SEDAC
The Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center is a part of NASA's Earth Observing System Data and Information System focusing on the connections between environmental and social sciences.
NCAA Research
Data compiled by the National Collegiate Athletic Association's research team. Topics include academic performance, student-athlete well-being, finances of intercollegiate athletics programs, gender-equity and diversity.
Caselaw Access Project
CAP includes all official, book-published state and federal United States case law (the earliest document is dated 16581).

Subscription Sources

IndiaStat.com
Provides detailed statistics on all aspects of life in India, some on the city and region levels.

Note: Only one user at a time. Click the "login" button under "through IP login" to access data sets. Be sure to logout when you are done.