SOC 224: Going Nuclear: Primary Sources

Searches across the full text and images of major U.S. and Black historical newspapers. Includes New York Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, L.A. Times, and more.

Searches across the full text of Chinese Historical Newspapers, The Guardian and Observer, Jerusalem Post, and Times of India.

Publication Dates: 1777-1963
Searchable digitized copies of historical newspapers from throughout the United States.

Publication Dates: 1844-Present
Current and historical archive of photographs, graphics, audio, and text created by the Associated Press.

Publication Dates: 1890-1982
Includes brief information about articles from popular and general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Also includes book reviews.

Publication Dates: 1890s-Present
Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage.

Access public domain books and journals from U.S. research libraries digitized by Google, Internet Archive, and other digitization partnerships.

Contains archived web pages, texts, audio, moving images, television news, and software digitized by libraries, archives, and Internet Archive users.

Publication Dates: 1940s to 21st century
Provides online access to historic public broadcasting radio and television content.

Coverage Date: 1947 -2013
Meet the Press Broadcasts

Publication Dates: 1968-Present
Searches descriptions of major U.S. network television evening news broadcasts and special news programs. Includes online videos for CNN and NBC evening news.

Publication Dates: 1789-Present
Provides U.S. congressional documents covering the full legislative process. Includes congressional debates (the Congressional Record), bills, laws, hearings, committee prints, and reports.

Publication Dates: 1945-Present
Contains full text of declassified US government documents, primarily acquired through FOIA requests, covering U.S. foreign policy since 1945.

Publication Dates: 1923-Present Resources for researching American government, politics, policy, and current affairs. CQ Almanac provides analyses of major legislation and actions of Congress since 1945. CQ Magazine features articles on public policy and legislation and a database of floor votes back to1983. CQ Researcher contains original reports on issues in the news since 1923.

Publication Dates: 1941-current
Contains full text of declassified White House, CIA, FBI, and State Department documents from presidential libraries.

Publication Dates: 1789-Present
Provides a searchable archive of every U.S. President's oral and written communications, party platforms, state-level presidential election returns, and much more.

Publication Dates: 1986-Present
Provides a searchable data archive of polls from around the world.

Provides summaries of U.S. social, economic, and education statistics from colonial times to 2000.