HIST/WGSS 376: Sex, Gender, and the Law in U.S. History: Reference Sources

Contains biographical profiles of people who died prior to 1996. Includes people whose significant actions took place while living in what is today the United States or whose life/career had a direct influence on the course of American history.

A standard reference work in United States history. Covers prehistory to 2002. Also available in print (SAWYER REFERENCE E174 .D52 2003).

Surveys the events and people of America during the 1950s.

Looks at the most important people and events in the arts, media, music and sports and covers the headline-grabbing news items of the 1960s.

Examines the topics of the 1970s from the energy crisis to the Vietnam war and more.

Written by eminent legal scholars, each entry provides the United States Reports citation, the date the case was argued and decided, the vote of the Justices, who wrote the opinion for the Court, who concurred, and who dissented. The entries feature an informative account of the particulars of the case, the legal and social background, the reasoning behind the Court's decision, and the case's impact on American society.

Contains essays for over 200 major court cases, at both state and federal levels, from the colonial period to the present. Arranged by broad areas of law and then chronologically. Use the index of cases to find specific cases. Essays are in-depth with a bibliography for further reading.

This source is good for getting background information on constitutional topics. Arranged alphabetically by topics and cases. Use the case index to find main entry for case and other references to the case throughout the encyclopedia. Longer entries have bibliographies.

Provides information on the history and operations of the Supreme Court. Includes extensive chapters on the Court and individual rights.

The standard source for legal definitions.

Free online legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School.