Searches across the full text and images of major U.S. and Black historical newspapers. Includes New York Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, L.A. Times, and more.
Publication Dates: 1980s-Present
Searches the full text of five major US newspapers: Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Content added daily by 8 a.m.
Publication Dates: 1890-Present
Includes articles from popular and general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Searches the Readers' Guide Abstracts and Readers' Guides Retrospective databases together; for more search functionality search each separately.
Publication Dates: 1969-Present
Contains summaries of articles from alternative, radical and left magazines and journals. Use to research topics not covered well in the mainstream press. Searches Alternative Press Archive and Alternative Press Index together.
Research Tip: Searching Newspapers
Searching Full-text Newspapers
Think like a journalist. What words would they use?
Use the vocabulary in use at the time. (e.g., Negroes instead of African American)
Combine synonyms with OR to increase results. (e.g., conservatives OR right-wing)
Use the asterisk (*) to get multiple endings of a word. (e.g., integrat* for integrate, integration, integrating, etc.)
To get words closer together, use proximity operators. (See the database's help page for correct syntax.)
Limit your search to "abstract" or "citation and abstract" (if available) to get more precise results.
Contains public opinion data, including polls from Gallup, CNN, ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox News, General Social Surveys and many other major polling organizations.
