Research Guides: ENVI 307: Environmental Law: U.S. Federal

Librarian

he/him

Contact:

Research Services
Sawyer Library
th13@williams.edu

Subjects: Environmental Studies, Global Studies, History, Justice and Law, Leadership Studies, Political Science, Science and Technology Studies

Best Bet Library Databases

Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1789-Present
Provides U.S. congressional documents covering the full legislative process. Includes congressional debates (the Congressional Record), bills, laws, hearings, committee prints, and reports.

Federal Register Library
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the Federal Register from its inception in 1936, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Administrative Procedure Act, Code of Emergency Federal Regulations, the U.S. Government Manual and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. The Federal Register is where the details of the rules and regulations that enforce federal law are first published.
TOXNET (Nat'l Library of Medicine)
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases, especially note the Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Leads the nation's environmental science, research, education, and assessment efforts. Their mission is to protect human health and the environment. See EPA in Your State for local information.

EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1985-Present
Provides detailed summaries of hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government.
Health & Environmental Research Online (HERO) This link opens in a new window
Provides public access to and brief summaries of the research the Environmental Protection Agency uses to inform its decisions.

U.S. Agricultural Research Service
The Agricultural Research Service (ARS) is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's chief scientific research agency. Searchable database of research reports, and ongoing agricultural research projects.
National Center for Health Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics, part of the Center for Disease Control, is the federal department charged with gathering data about America's health.

Looking for More?

Visit our How to Find United States Legal Information Research Guide

FDLP

Williams Libraries is a Congressionally-designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by Title 44 United States Code.

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.