Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Information: Home

Getting Started

Fall 2020

Library facilities are open to current faculty, students and staff. Entry is through swipe-card access (with college ID). Non-contact services (pick-up, scanning, delivery) are also offered. Hours of operation 

For the fall semester libraries and the Center for Educational Technology (CET) are offering a mix of on-campus and off-site services. 

Library Support

Librarians are available to assist with questions of access to resources and/or conducting research. You may reach librarians through the Ask A Librarian service or by contacting your liaison librarian.

Technology Support

Preparing for Teaching in Fall 2020
To prepare for hybrid and remote teaching, you can consult the guide prepared by the Teach Summer Team: Strategies and Tips for Teaching Hybrid and Remote Courses and participate in the Preparing for Fall 2020 GLOW course

Get to know your liaisons

Departments and programs are assigned a librarian and an instructional technologist to support the teaching and research needs of their faculty and students. Instructional technologists and librarians are available to consult and work to support you as a teacher, researcher, author, and learner.

Library Liaisons:  

  • work with faculty to build library collections 
  • consult on ways to integrate information literacy into courses  
  • teach library instruction sessions for courses
  • provide research assistance 
  • assist in navigating library services (consult and refer) 

Contact Your Library Liaison 

Instructional Technology Liaisons:
The Instructional Technology (ITech) group works to enhance the teaching, learning and scholarly work of the College through the creative and sustainable application of technology. ITech liaisons, 

  • provide technology support 
  • assist with GLOW, course management system used at Williams 
  • consult with faculty on how to integrate technology into teaching and design assignment furthering media literacy 

​Contact Your ITech Liaison

Special Collections Librarians 

  • provide hands-on experience with rare books and archives
  • teach students to critically engage with primary sources
  • relate coursework to Williams history
  • work with faculty to acquire relevant special collections

Contact Special Collections Librarians 

Search the collections

Schow and Sawyer Libraries

Materials in Schow and Sawyer libraries are discoverable through the library catalog.The catalog provides a simple, one-stop search for books, e-books, videos, articles and digital media. It includes: 

  • All items owned by Williams Libraries
  • Articles, proceedings, and digital materials from a variety of licensed and open source databases
  • Items in Unbound, Williams' digital repository


Special Collections

While most materials from College Archives and Chapin Library are discoverable through the library catalog, several collections are not yet cataloged. For more information, check  Archives Collections,  and Chapin Library Collections, or contact archives@williams.edu  or chapin.library@williams.edu


E-Books

We provide access to several collections of e-books.  You may ask the library to purchase e-books - if the title is available through our e-book vendors, we'll add it to the collection. However, due to publishers' practices, we are frequently unable to purchase individual titles not offered through our vendors.  For additional information, contact your collection liaison

Articles Databases and E-Journals 

The library provides access to a comprehensive collection of e-journals and databases across disciplines. For a  list of electronic resources, consult our A-Z  Databases list. If you need access to a database not listed, contact your collection liaison

Streamed Content

In partnership with OIT, the library offers:

  • Digitization of library-owned films with access through GLOW (course management system)
  • Purchase of streaming rights from streaming distributors (e.g. Films for the Humanities)
  • Access to licensed streaming databases

How to Request Streaming

 

Announcements

New video: Off-campus access 

Need Help? Ask A Librarian!

 

 

Don't want to chat? See: Other ways to get help