Research Guides: How to Find Film Reviews and Criticism: Finding Film Criticism

Best Bet Library Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1926-present
Index to scholarly literature for language, literature, linguistics and related areas such as film and television.
   Database Search Tips
   * Search for the film's title in the "Subjects" field
   * Add "film" to the search if the film was based on a novel
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1998-present; some coverage 1864-1998
Index to scholarly and popular literature for dance, film, television, theater, and other topics relating to the performing arts.
   Database Search Tips
   * Search for the film title in the "Creative Work" field instead of "Anywhere"
   * Limit to Source Type = Scholarly Journals, Document Type = Research Analysis, or Narrow Subject = Film criticism

Additional Resources

Be sure to search subject-specific databases in subject areas where scholars may analyze the film in question.

Examples:

Search Women's Studies International to find articles related to Thelma & Louise or other films with feminist themes.

Use Bibliography of Asian Studies to find articles such as "Kung fu masters: stardom, performances and 'authenticity' in Hong Kong martial arts films"

Try America: History and Life to find articles such as "Raising minstrelsy: humor, satire and the stereotype in The Birth of a Nation and Bamboozled".

Research Tip: Film Search Tips

Film Search Tips

Use quotation marks around the title of the film; e.g., "Real Women Have Curves"
For foreign films, search for both the English and original language title; e.g., Breathless OR A Bout de Souffle
Multiple films may have the same title; e.g., Ben-Hur (1925) and Ben-Hur (1959). Use the date and/or the director's name to narrow your search.
Ask a librarian for help!

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.

Need help? You can ask!

Need Help? You can ask!

Other ways to get help:

Email us

Call us at 413-597-4500

Text us at 413-648-6071

Stop by during our service hours.