Research Guides: How to Find Film Reviews and Criticism: Finding Film Reviews

Finding Current Reviews

Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1998-present; some coverage 1864-1998
Index to scholarly and popular literature for dance, film, television, theater, and other topics relating to the performing arts.
   Database Search Tips
   * Choose Document Type = Film Review
   * Search for the film title in the "Creative Work" field instead of "Anywhere"
Academic OneFile Select (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1980-present
Multi-disciplinary index to scholarly academic and general interest periodical.
   Database Search Tips
   * Limit by Document Type = movie review
   * Choose Magazines link
ProQuest Current Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
Searches the following ProQuest Databases: Ethnic Newswatch, International Newsstand, National Newspapers Premiere, and ProQuest Newsstand.
   Database Search Tips
   * Choose Document type = Review
   * Choose Source type = Newspapers, Magazines
   * Limit to time period around film release
   * Sort by relevance

Finding Older Reviews (pre-1980)

Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1890-1982
Index to articles in popular, general interest magazines published in the United States and Canada. Use the FindText button to determine whether the library has the items needed.
Database Search Tip
* Put "motion picture reviews" in the second search box.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (US) This link opens in a new window
Full text of major US newspapers including Chicago Tribune (1849-1988), Los Angeles Times (1881-1988),
New York Times (1851-2008), Washington Post (1877-1995), and more.
   Database Search Tips
   * Choose Document Type = Review, but not all reviews are code correctly.
   * Limit to time period around film release
   * Sort by relevance

Film Review Index [print resource]
For films that came out between 1882 and 1985, this print index is the best place to start. It lists articles, chapters, and books which review a particular film. Search the library catalog by title for the publication title.

Research Tip: Film Search Tips

Film Search Tips

Use quotation marks around the title of the film; e.g., "Real Women Have Curves"
For foreign films, search for both the English and original language title; e.g., Breathless OR A Bout de Souffle
Multiple films may have the same title; e.g., Ben-Hur (1925) and Ben-Hur (1959). Use the date and/or the director's name to narrow your search.
Ask a librarian for help!

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.

Need help? You can ask!

Need Help? You can ask!

Other ways to get help:

Email us

Call us at 413-597-4500

Text us at 413-648-6071

Stop by during our service hours.