Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Secondary Sources?
Secondary sources interpret or analyze primary sources. Thus, they are a step removed from the event or original text. Examples of secondary sources include:
- Articles from journals
- Articles from magazines
- Articles from edited collections
- Book reviews
- Documentary films
- Essays in anthologies
- Literary criticism
- Popular press books
- Scholarly books
How you use a source determines whether it is a primary source or secondary source. If you are analyzing a magazine article from the 1940s to talk about what life was like during that time period, it is a primary source. However, if you are citing information from a magazine article written today about the 1940s, then it is a secondary source.
Best Bet Library Databases
Publication Dates: 1953-Present
Historical Time Period: 15th century-Present
Covers world history and culture (excluding U.S. and Canada). Contains summaries of scholarly articles, books, and more.
Provides access to articles in leading academic journals and books in the fields of humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Searches across books and magazines digitized by Google. Can be useful in finding relevant essays and chapters in books.
Search the Library Catalog
Find books, articles, & more
Historical Abstracts Search Tips
- Start your search by doing keyword searches.
- Look at the subject headings of relevant records to determine the terminology used in the database for your topic.
- Combine the keywords "review article" or "historiography" with your topic to find analyses of the scholarship on your topic.
- Use the Language Limit to remove items in languages you cannot read.
- Use the Historical Period limit to narrow your search to the time period you are researching.
Research Tip: Find Text Button
The Find Text Button
Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.
Research Tip: Borrow It
If we don't own a book, or if our copy is checked out, you can borrow a copy from another library. Just search for the book in Williams WorldCat, and then choose "Request Item" to borrow it.
If you need help, just ask!