Print copies of Parliamentary Debates are housed in the Library Shelving Facility (LSF). Sign into the catalog to access the request form within the library catalog record. Be sure to enter the year, volume number, part number (if given), and any other volume information in the request. Keep for your own records the page or column numbers in your citations. Volumes will be delivered to the Circulation Desk and you will be notified by email when they are ready.
Note: There are links in the table below to digitized versions of Hansard's (1803-2005); unfortunately, only the text of comments was digitized, not the headings or indexes, so searching the digitized versions by keywords may not yield everything you need. For a thorough search, consult the indexes indicated below.
Until 1908, Debates from both Commons and Lords were combined.
For assistance, Ask a Librarian.
| date/body |
title |
where indexed |
|---|---|---|
| 1066-1803 |
The Parliamentary history of England from the earliest period to the year 1803... |
Nineteenth Century Masterfile use the Advanced search form; select Cobbett's from the Source menu |
| 1804-1812 | Cobbett's parliamentary debates, during the ... session of the ... (1st series, v.1-22) Library Shelving Facility J301 .H22 1st series digitized |
Nineteenth Century Masterfile use the Advanced search form; select Cobbett's from the Source menu |
| 1812-1820 | The Parliamentary debates ... (1st series, v.23-41) Library Shelving Facility J301 .H22 1st series digitized |
Nineteenth Century Masterfile use the Advanced search form; select Hansard's Debates from the Source menu |
| 1820-1829 | The Parliamentary Debates Library Shelving Facility J301 .H22 (new series, v.1-20) new series (aka 2nd series) digitized |
Nineteenth Century Masterfile use the Advanced search form; select Hansard's Debates from the Source menu |
| 1829-1891 | Hansard's Parliamentary Debates Library Shelving Facility J301 .H22 (3rd series, v.1-356) 3rd series digitized |
Last volume of each annual session is (or includes) a general index for the volumes of that session. Use 3rd series digitized to determine volume number. |
| 1892-1908 | The Parliamentary debates / United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland (4th series, v.1-199) Library Shelving Facility J301 .H22 4th series digitized |
Last volume of each annual session is (or includes) a general index for the volumes of that session. Use 4th series digitized to determine volume number. |
| 1909-1937
House of Commons
|
The Parliamentary debates (official report). [House of Commons] (5th series, v.1-318) Library Shelving Facility J301 .K22 5th series Commons digitized |
Last volume for each annual session is (or includes) a general index for the volumes of that session. Use Library catalog record to determine. |
| 1909-1937
House of Lords
|
The Parliamentary debates, (official report). [House of Lords] (5th series, v.1-103) Library Shelving Facility J301 .H68 5th series Lords digitized |
Last volume for each annual session is (or includes) a general index for the volumes of that session. Use Library catalog record to determine. |
| 1937-1943
House of Commons
|
Parliamentary debates. House of Commons official report (5th series, v.319-393) Library Shelving Facility J301 .K22 5th series Commons digitized |
Last volume for each annual session is (or includes) a general index for the volumes of that session. Use Library catalog record to determine. |
| 1937-1943
House of Lords
|
Parliamentary debates, House of Lords official report (5th series: v.104-111,113-129) Library Shelving Facility J301 .H68 5th series Lords digitized |
Last volume for each annual session is (or includes) a general index for the volumes of that session. Use Library catalog record to determine. |
| 1943-1996
House of Commons
|
Parliamentary Debates (Hansard). House of Commons official report (5th series: v.394-1000; 6th series:v.1-267) Library Shelving Facility J301 .K22 5th series Commons digitized 6th series (to 2004) Commons digitized |
Last volume for each annual session is (or includes) a general index for the volumes of that session. Use Library catalog record to determine. |
| 1943-1996
House of Lords
|
The parliamentary debates (Hansard). House of Lords official report (5th series: v.130-569) Library Shelving Facility J301 .H68 5th series Lords digitized (to 2005) |
Last volume for each annual session is (or includes) a general index for the volumes of that session. Use Library catalog record to determine. |
Get one-on-one research help from a librarian! Librarians can help you: