Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry 326: Finding Articles

Chemical Biology: Discovery at the Interface
Jimmy Blair
Fall 2018

Best Bet Library Databases

Begin searching for journal articles in the databases listed below.  As your topic develops, you may find one database to be more useful than another.   Also consider citation searching to find additional information on your topic. Backward citation searching can find original research and put it in context.  Forward searching will find works that have cited a paper since it was published.

Finding Articles: Tips

When looking for original research, you will need to find journal articles.  Use the following databases as starting points for finding information related to your topic. 

Web of Science:  use the citation searching feature to find citing and cited articles for your assigned paper

SciFinder Scholar:  explore by substance or by research topic

PubMed:  search by keyword and limit to a type of study or specific subjects or search by Toxicology Subset

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this SFX Find Text Button button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.

screenshot of Get It section with link

Need help? You can ask!

Need Help? You can ask!

 

 

Other ways to get help:

Email us

Call us at 413-597-4500

Text us at 413-648-6071

Stop by during our service hours.

Search PubMed

  

Search Web of Science

 

How to Read and Comprehend Scientific Research Articles

Research Tip: Proxy Server

Researching Off Campus

Many of the resources on the A-Z Databases page are accessible anywhere you have an Internet connection. However, you will need to authenticate yourself as a Williams user

If you need help, just ask!

Peer Review in Three Minutes

Credit: NCSU Libraries
Run Time: 3:00

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Abigail Cahill
she/her/hers
Meet your librarian:
Contact:
Schow Science Library
413-597-4503
alc11@williams.edu