Research Guides: English 302: Scholarly Books & Articles

Search the Library Catalog

Find books, articles, & more

Using the Library Catalog

Searching and Browsing

Do a few keyword searches in the library catalog
Once you find a relevant book, click on the Details link and look at the Subjects to find similar items
When you click on a subject, it will run a new search on that topic

Browse the shelves
Books are organized on the shelves according to topic, so once you find a promising source, you can:

use the Virtual Browse link in the library catalog to see other possibly relevant books around it
or go to the shelves to browse physically

Best Bet Library Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1926-Present
The major database for literary research. Includes references to journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations. Use the FindText button to get the full article. See MLA's tutorials for tips on searching this database.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1972-Present
Includes summaries of scholarly articles on topics rooted in feminist and queer theory. Includes references to journals, newspapers, book chapters, dissertations, and more.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1954-Present
Historical Time Period: Prehistory-Present.
Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. Contains summaries of scholarly articles, dissertations, and book reviews.

Additional Resources

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in leading academic journals and books in the fields of humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly articles, books, conference papers, and more. Modify your Google Scholar settings to access library-provided full text.

Google Books
Searches across books and magazines digitized by Google.

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.