How to Find Newspaper Articles: By Type of Article

Newspapers have a different types of articles, each with its own purposes. See each type listed below on the left for more information.

Types of Articles

Front Page

Purpose:

To highlight the most important news of the day as determined by the editors.

Titanic Sinks, 1500 Die

How to Find:

Search for keywords related to the topic and look for a document type limit: Front Page. See also the Freedom Forum's collection of Today's Front Pages.

Editorials

Purpose:

To give opinions on current issues and events, written by the editorial board.

climate change editorial

How to Find:

In print newspapers, editorials tend to appear in the first section of the newspaper. To find editorials in library databases, use the advanced search and look for "Editorial" as a document or article type limit or look for the limit after doing a search.

Op-Eds

Purpose:

To discuss and provide arguments on issues of relevance to the readers of the newspaper, written by named authors not associated with the newspaper's editorial board.

Op-ed Our Chance for Healthier Children

How to Find:

In print newspapers, these articles are usually on the page opposite the editorial page (op-ed). In online databases, search for keywords related to the topic and look for document type limit: Commentary.

 

 

Letters to the Editor

Purpose:

To provide reactions from readers to the content of the newspaper.

Letter to the Editor

How to find:

In print newspapers, letters to the editor appear on the editorial and op-ed pages. In online databases, search for keywords related to the topic and look for document type limit: Letters.

Reviews

Purpose: 
​To summarize and give commentary on books, films, and performances.

New York Times Arts page with review of Angels in America

How to Find:

Search for the title of the book, play, dance, film, etc. and limit to around the date it was released/performed. Databases often have a "review" limit, however, often times in the ProQuest Historical databases, reviews are coded as "article."

See also the following guides:

Obituaries

Purpose: 
​To reflect on the life of a recently deceased person.

Obituary of Whitney Houston

How to Find:

Search for the person's name and limit to publication date around time of the person's death. Some databases have a document type limit: Obituary. For very famous people, their death announcement may be an article on the front page rather than in the obituary section, and thus will be coded in the database as "front page" instead of "obituary."

Advertisements

Purpose: 

​To promote products for sale.

Advertisement of a corset

How to Find:

Search for keywords related to the topic and look for document type limit: Advertisement or Display Ad.

Classified Ads

Purpose: 

​To present offers and requests from the newspaper's readers.

Classified ad for run away slave

How to Find:

Search for keywords related to the offer/request and look for document type limit: Advertisement or Classified ad.

Need Help? You can ask!

 

 

Don't want to chat? See: Other ways to get help