How to Find Newspaper Articles: Historical News

Historical News

Best Bet Library Databases

For additional resources, please see the geographical categories on the left.

Williams College News

The following is a chronological listing of undergraduate publications at Williams College that primarily contain college news. Many report on athletics, proceedings of the various campus societies, alumni news, and newsworthy events at other colleges. They also feature editorials and fiction by undergraduates.

Title Dates Published Access
The Vidette 1867-1874 Request at Special Collections
The Williams Review 1870-1874 Request at Special Collections
The Williams Athenaeum 1874-1885 Request at Special Collections
The Argo 1881-1885 Request at Special Collections
The Fortnight 1885-1887 Request at Special Collections
The Williams Weekly 1887-1904 Request at Special Collections
The Williams Record 1904-1972

Print: College Archives and Sawyer Reference 
Call number: LH1.W5 W53
Digitized issues: 1904-1972
To find articles on a topic, use the index volumes shelved with print copy.

The Williams Herald 1943 Request at Special Collections
The Williams Advocate 1970-1972 Print: College Archives and Sawyer Reference 
Call number: LH1.W5 W533
Digitized issues: 1970-1972
RecordAdvocate 1972-1975

Print: College Archives and Sawyer Reference 
Call number: LH1.W5 W53
Digitized issues: 1972-1975
To find articles on a topic, use the index volumes shelved with print copy.

The Williams Record 1975- Print: College Archives and Sawyer Reference 
Call number: LH1.W5 W53
Digitized issues: 1975-1990
To find articles on a topic, use the index volumes shelved with print copy.
The Williams Free Press 1994-1999 Request at Special Collections

See the College Archives Undergraduate Publications research guide for information about these publications.

Local News (Williamstown area)

To find print, microfilm, and online editions of local newspapers in our collections, use the Browse search function of the library catalog. Choose to search by Subject and enter the following pattern:

Town/County (State abbreviation) -- Newspapers 

Examples:

Note: the date listed in the catalog record is the year the newspaper began publishing.

If you know the title of the newspaper you want, do a Browse search by Title. Watch out for changes in the title over time; there will be a different catalog record for each time the title changes.

U.S. State/Regional News

Library Databases

Freely Available Digital Collections

Microfilm

U.S. National News

International News

Library Databases: Multiple Titles

Library Databases: Individual Titles

Library Databases: Translated News

Freely Available Digital Collections

Many national libraries and university libraries have been digitizing historic newspapers. Below are some resources that can help you find these digital collections.

Microfilm

Need Help? You can ask!

 

 

Don't want to chat? See: Other ways to get help