Research Guides: How to Find Newspaper Articles: Recent News

Best Bet Library Databases

For additional resources, please see the geographical categories on the left.

ProQuest Current Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Whether you need Berkshire County news stories or the latest news from Paris, this database, which searches across Ethnic NewsWatch, National Newspapers, International Newsstand, and ProQuest Newsstand, is a good starting point for recent news articles.

nytimes.com
Publication Dates: 1980-Present
Register for library-provided access to articles and other content published on the New York Times website.

The Williams Record Online
Publication Dates: April 15, 1997-Present
Student newspaper of Williams College. This online version allows searching and browsing of issues.

America's News: Massachusetts This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: Late 1990s/early 2000s-Present
Searches the full text of articles from western Massachusetts newspapers, including the Berkshire Eagle, North Adams Transcript, The Republican (Springfield), and more.

Berkshire Eagle Online
Publication Dates: Current year
Covers news for Berkshire County, Massachusetts.
Bennington Banner
Publication Dates: Current year
Daily newspaper of Bennington, Vermont.

ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1980s-present
Includes full text of U.S. newspapers (major dailies, regional, and local), newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Nexis Uni - News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text articles from U.S. national and regional news sources as well as English-language news sources from around the world.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1990-Present
Includes full text of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press in the United States. Coverage is national and regional.

Today's Front Page (Newseum)
Through a special agreement with more than 800 newspapers worldwide, the Newseum displays the front pages each day on its website. The front pages are in their original, unedited form, and includes a link to the newspaper's website. Also includes an archive of selected significant events.

ProQuest Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1980s-Present
Searches the full text of five major US newspapers: Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Content added daily by 8 a.m.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1990-Present
Includes full text of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press in the United States. Coverage is national and regional.
Nexis Uni - News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text articles from U.S. national and regional news sources as well as English-language news sources from around the world.

Today's Front Page (Newseum)
Through a special agreement with more than 800 newspapers worldwide, the Newseum displays the front pages each day on its website. The front pages are in their original, unedited form, and includes a link to the newspaper's website. Also includes an archive of selected significant events.
nytimes.com
Publication Dates: 1980-Present
Register for library-provided access to articles and other content published on the New York Times website.

Library Databases

Nexis Uni - News This link opens in a new window
For English-language international news, use the general All News search box. Note: the Geography limit will give stories ABOUT the country but not necessarily stories PUBLISHED in the country.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: Last 90 days
Contains international newspapers as they appear on the newsstand on the day they are published. Includes many non-English newspapers.
ProQuest International Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: late 1990s-Present
Searches across the full text of international newspapers and newswires. Includes English and non-English titles. Does not include images and graphics.
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1994-2013
Continues FBIS database. Contains full text of English translations of foreign broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government statements, covering policy and politics important to U.S. interests.

Websites

Today's Front Page (Newseum)
Through a special agreement with more than 800 newspapers worldwide, the Newseum displays the front pages each day on its website. The front pages are in their original, unedited form, and includes a link to the newspaper's website. Also includes an archive of selected significant events.
World Newspapers.com
Provides links to English-language newspapers worldwide.

Additional Resources

Europa World Plus
Use this database to identify the names and websites of newspapers published in a specific country. Choose your country of interest, then select "Directory: Society and Media," and then choose "The Press."

Other ways to get help:

Email us

Call us at 413-597-2505

Text us at 413-648-6071

Stop by during our service hours.